Is 9740 Shore Road listing a scam?

Profile picture for broadwaylover

I emailed the owner about it and here is part of the email:
"Has 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 kitchen and 1 living room at $970 per month (below market value). I am recently divorced and I will move back home in Oxford, England. The lease can be for a minimum 1 month to 6 years or more. I'm the full right owner of the apartment and the utilities are included in this price (rent/month).  Unfortunately I have the keys, no one else have access in the apartment."
Also, there is no 9740 on shore road- that is the park side of the road.

  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 06 2011 - Brooklyn
  • Be a Good Neighbor. Be respectful and on-topic. No spam or self-promotion! See our Good Neighbor Policy.

Answers (2)

Shore Road addresses are all odd numbers. 9740 is even and not a valid address.
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 17 2011
Dear Broadwaylover:

Always be cautious when something sounds too good to be true! In my opinion this is a scam. Real landlords do have keys, they or their real estate agent meet you at the property to show it to you and you do not give any payments until you sign a lease. There are many scams like this on the Internet, in the end they try to have you send them money without ever showing you the house or meeting you in person. Don't fall for it!

Also, when researching properties to rent or buy, you can usually find out a lot by "Googling" the address! If I can be of further assistance, please let me know. Good luck!

Sincerely,
Mitchell S. Feldman
Associate Broker/ Director of Sales
Madison Estates & Properties, Inc.

  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 06 2011
 

Have a question? Ask it here.

What's this?
Close

By starting a discussion, you can expect more of an interactive, back-and-forth experience where the conversation can go in many different directions.

Or start a discussion
Related Questions
Profile picture for Chasintrades5
QuestionFHA Streamline Options
  • Asked by Chasintrades5
  • 14 hours ago
Profile picture for Ebrock3
Question635 vanderbilt ave
  • Asked by Ebrock3
  • May 16
Profile picture for HomeSand.net
Questionwhat's my home value?
  • Latest answer by HomeSand.net
  • May 04
Profile picture for Mitchell Feldman
QuestionWhy is Zillow posting the wrong neighborhood for my listing??
  • Asked by Mitchell Feldman
  • April 30
Profile picture for sunnyview
QuestionHow do I remove an agent from claiming my home?
  • Latest answer by sunnyview
  • March 29
Be A Good Neighbor

Zillow® Advice depends on each member to keep it a safe, fun, and positive place. If you see abuse, flag it. More on our Good Neighbor Policy