Profile picture for feithanna

Is it legal to have a four year lease in the state of Florida?

I leased my condo in Florida to a renter on June 2012 for a term of 48 months.  Someone recently told me that it is illegal to have a lease term of more than 12 months in the State of Florida.  Is this true?
 
  • February 19 2014 - Ocala
  • 0
    0Yes

  • Report a Problem

    Please enter a valid email address.

    Content flagged

    We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

    We're sorry. This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.

Be a Good Neighbor. Be respectful and on-topic. No spam or self-promotion! See our Good Neighbor Policy.

Answers (3)

"Realtors in the state of Florida cannot have parties sign a lease more than 12 months."

Id love to see the state law calling for that? Is this merely an enforceability issue your referring to? or are you seriously saying its legal for attorneys, landlords, tenants to sign lease agreements for over 12 months yet for Realtors this is Illegal to engage in? I'm finding that hard to believe but I'm a Ma. Realtor so I have to differ to others to explain this more accurately.

Maybe you mean its a Policy or a Real Estate Board rule? please elaborate...
  • February 28 2014
  • 0Yes

  • Report a Problem

    Please enter a valid email address.

    Content flagged

    We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

    We're sorry. This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.

Realtors in the state of Florida cannot have parties sign a lease more than 12 months.
  • February 28 2014
  • 0Yes

  • Report a Problem

    Please enter a valid email address.

    Content flagged

    We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

    We're sorry. This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.

I'm not an attorney and have not seen your lease to know how it was drafted, so take this as my own personal belief...

someone told you an "untruth". 48 months (or 48 years) is perfectly legal... having said that it is wise to have a competent local Realtor represent you to make sure your lease meets your states current  requirements and is proper and/or you have an attorney review it.

thumbs up if this helps>>> best wishes!
  • February 19 2014
  • 0Yes

  • Report a Problem

    Please enter a valid email address.

    Content flagged

    We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

    We're sorry. This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.