Is this a scam I recieved this email and it's suspicious to me!

Profile picture for Chell0726
Hello,
    It's my great pleasure that you are interested in my lovely home for rent. Actually me and my wife with my daughter resided in this home before and presently we have relocate to WEST AFRICA due to my transfer as a matter of my profession. I work as a volunteer with Evangelical Council of Financial Accountability (ECFA), here is the site for more detail about why i am here in West Africa (www.Wycliffe.org) and my wife who is a missionary working with Bible Translation and  literacy worldwide.
   As soon as we settle down here i had a thought of selling the house but later my wife advised against it. She said we may not be able to win the bidding next time, in other to keep our head when we return that we have to keep the house. I reasoned with her and accepted her advise. Later we decided to have the house rented out. If you notice, you will discovered that the price we are offering is far below standard market price, this is enough for you to know that we are not after the rental fee but the absolute care for our property. I know there is no way i can be sure that you are the right person to live in my house because we won't be able to meet in physical before sending you the keys and the documents to occupy the house. But i just had a feeling that anyone who knows what it takes to put the kind of structure down should know that maintaining a building is mandatory, so if you believe you can take good care of the house and handle it
like yours then i will be more than happy to let you rent the house.
 Please if you are interested to occupy my house kindly provide the information below for record purpose :-
 YOU CAN REACH ME ON THE NUMBERS BELOW
+234-703-087-7578 or 011-234-703-087-7578.
 Best Regards,
Alex
wadealex47@yahoo.com
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011 - Indianapolis

Replies (6)

Profile picture for SoCal Appraiser
Yes, its a scam....
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011
Profile picture for StephanieKimble

Do not send them any money!  It is a well known scam.

  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011
Profile picture for Chell0726
Thanks so much I have tried reporting it on here but it keeps telling me it's unavailable?
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011
Profile picture for wetdawgs
Here's the customer service E-mail. or you can find "edit" and chose "report problem with listing"
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011
Profile picture for PHX AZ RE BROKER
Has anybody else noticed that all the scammers seem to use the same format of email address to try to sound "American", yet they use terrible English? (English-sounding last name, English-sounding first name,small number, @yahoo.com...)

RUN from anybody with that format of yahoo email address, or anybody who mentions Africa. The Nigerian government doesn't prosecute scammers that hail from that country. There's some more tips about the Nigerian rental scam here.
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011
Profile picture for Neil R
Hi Chell0726 -

This is Neil from Zillow.

Can you send the property address so I can further check in to this?

Thank you.
  Flag content
Close
Report a Problem

Please enter a valid email address.

Close
Content flagged

We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.

Close
We're Sorry
This service is temporarily unavailable. Please come back later and try again.
September 12 2011
 
  • Be a Good Neighbor. Be respectful and on-topic. No spam or self-promotion! See our Good Neighbor Policy.

Have a question? Ask it here.

What's this?
Close

By starting a discussion, you can expect more of an interactive, back-and-forth experience where the conversation can go in many different directions.

Or start a discussion
Related Discussions
Profile picture for Pasadenan
DiscussionScam
  • Last reply by Pasadenan
  • November 16 2011
Profile picture for Neil R
DiscussionIs this a scam I recieved this email and it's suspicious to me!
  • Last reply by Neil R
  • September 12 2011
Profile picture for Vicki Lanham
DiscussionMis-Representation on Listings
  • Posted by Vicki Lanham
  • March 03 2011
Profile picture for Chanda Barrick
Discussion2329 N. Delaware St., Indianapolis, IN 46205
  • Last reply by Chanda Barrick
  • January 11 2010
Related Articles
GuidePhoto Uploading Tips
GuideHow to Find a Rental on Zillow
GuideHow to Pre-Market a Home
GuidePicking the Best Comps
GuideMortgage Home Page Headline
Be A Good Neighbor

Zillow® Advice depends on each member to keep it a safe, fun, and positive place. If you see abuse, flag it. More on our Good Neighbor Policy