- Find a Real Estate Professional
- Realtors®
- Mortgage Lenders
- Home Improvement Pros
- Other Real Estate Services
- Review an Agent, Lender or Pro
- Marketing on Zillow
- Real Estate Agent Advertising
- Join the Professional Directory
- Popular
- Real Estate Market Reports
- More
Answers (11)
I can't tell you all what happens the last few minutes.
I read this about the fraud.
I'm in Denver and I had contact with the same person (michell30@live.com).
I got his responce from craigslist, searching for an apartment.
I've already paid!! Stupid not to check before. But I called MoneyGram and I have my money back.
This website should be more easier to reach. Maybe a link on the main page zillow.com.
I read this about the fraud.
I'm in Denver and I had contact with the same person (michell30@live.com).
I got his responce from craigslist, searching for an apartment.
I've already paid!! Stupid not to check before. But I called MoneyGram and I have my money back.
This website should be more easier to reach. Maybe a link on the main page zillow.com.

- epearson921
- Contributions:1
I too responded to a Craigslist posting with almost identical features. The e-mail address is john_david55@live.com. He said he used Zillow Payment Service and provided a link.

- cmariehayes
- Contributions:2
Thank you all for your answers. It was indeed Michell David at the address listed below. I tried to post the emails, but they are too many characters. I have contacted Zillow through this comment from Russ Hatfield to offer the emails for their investigation. I also plan to post them on Craigslist to warn other apartment seekers in my area, and to follow the instructions on Craigslist to report fraud. Thanks again, Christine

- HomeSand.net, "White Picture"
- Contributions:4398
I do not want to go further, as try to "sign in" on the scam website.

- Michael Emery, "MikeEmery"
- Contributions:7298
i'm rather surprised that Zillow has said nada, nothing, zilch, zero about this posting.

- HomeSand.net, "White Picture"
- Contributions:4398
Yes, it is totally scam, if you go to the scam website and click on "My Zillow" tab, your profile does not show up and even your screen name doesn't show up on the upper right corner.

- sunnyview
- Contributions:25139
Thank you for posting the scammers name and email. That really helps! Thumbs up.

- gt100
- Contributions:1
This also happened to me. Luckily, I read this before sending them any money. The fake condo owner introduced himself as Michel Davis. His email address is michell30@live.com and he said he had to move to North Dakota to take care of his son and nephew. He provided me with the same link (http://www.zillowpayments ... geContent) and asked for a deposit of $1,800.
DO NOT FALL FOR THIS.
Thanks, Christine, for your post.
DO NOT FALL FOR THIS.
Thanks, Christine, for your post.

- sunnyview
- Contributions:25139
It sounds like a complete SCAM. Zillow has more have information on scams and tips to protect yourself here. I am glad that you were not scammed. Please consider posting information on the board to help others the way that some people have with the name, email address or part of the email that the person sent you. Many people have avoided scams on Zillow and other sites by googling the scammers name. When they end up on Zillow, they get the scoop from posters like you on the board.

- Michael Emery, "MikeEmery"
- Contributions:7298
From what little I can tell, the website that you have provided the link to is being hosted by a German (yes German) free internet web company.
I'm pretty sure Zillow doesn't use a web company in Germany.
Unfortunately it's hard to reach Zillow on the weekends. Until you hear from Zillow SEND THEM NO MONEY. This looks completely bogus. But it's good to know it's going on out there.
I'm pretty sure Zillow doesn't use a web company in Germany.
Unfortunately it's hard to reach Zillow on the weekends. Until you hear from Zillow SEND THEM NO MONEY. This looks completely bogus. But it's good to know it's going on out there.
Zillow Payment Services - Tenant Protection Program--Is this a service you provide or a scam?
http://www.zillowpayments ... geContent
NOT A ZILLOW LINK- THIS IS A FRAUDULANT LINK (note by moderator)
Stating a discriminatory preference in an advertisement for housing is illegal. If you think this content is discriminatory or otherwise inappropriate and feel it should be removed from Zillow, please let us know by completing the information above.
We will review this content. Thanks for helping make the site more useful to everyone. To learn more, read Zillow's Good Neighbor Policy.