Profile picture for Charles Burnette

Charles Burnette

Zillow Local Expert in:

  • 24060
  • Blacksburg
  • 24073

The Local Expert badge is awarded to those who have made valuable contributions in a specific city or neighborhood on Zillow. Local Experts are active Zillow users who share their real estate knowledge and help others by contributing high-quality content at a local level. The more and better the contributions a user makes that relate to that city or neighborhood, the more likely an award will be granted. Users' contributions can be seen in their profiles.

Learn more
Agent

3 Recent Sales (last 12 months)

Real Estate Broker (20 years experience)

Specialties:
Buyer's Agent,
Listing Agent,
Foreclosure,
Property Management

Ratings & Reviews

I had the misfortune to rent a townhouse through Burnette for a year and I can absolutely say that he is the worst realtor you can possibly interact with. We had a patch of mold the size of your kitchen sink in our ceiling and it took 4 months a lot of unnecessary hassle. His staff is rude and unresponsive and he is just as bad. I could go on and on about how bad he is but there isn't enough space. DO NOT use Burnette Realtors if at all possible.

  

10/26/2014 - bowes mark
Helped me rent a home in Merrimac, Blacksburg, VA 24060.

I had the misfortune to rent a townhouse through Burnette for a year and I can absolutely say that he is the worst realtor you can possibly interact with. We had a patch of mold the size of your kitchen sink in our ceiling and it took 4 months a lot of unnecessary hassle. His staff is rude and unresponsive and he is just as bad. I could go on and on about how bad he is but there isn't enough space. DO NOT use Burnette Realtors if at all possible.

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles

 

  

09/09/2014 - mziray
Property manage a home.

Lack of communication about my property made me extremely suspicious of his management and after checking up on him independently became horrified. Charles was charging my tenants a "redecorating fee" of $350, none of which was put toward repainting and repairs that were charged directly to me. This fee was not in our management agree and is a breach of our contract. He also did not charge tenants for destroying our appliances, putting holes in the wall and other damage to the property. He simply collected fees and pocketed that money. Talked to several other real estate agents who know about his reputation, lack of professionalism, lack of communication, and some have even used words like "shameless" and "it’s simply money that he uses to pad his pockets."

He never provided complete year end tax information either, delaying my tax return filing.

He also charged me several repairs for brand new appliances and a toilet flapper, which seems to be a pretty popular repair for him to make on units, according to other owners who's property he manages. These repairs were highly suspicious and never once provided adequate proof.

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles

 

  

05/08/2014 - melissareed09
Bought a home in 2014 in Fagg, Christiansburg, VA 24073.

Would definitely recommend Charles! He's very knowledgable and knows how to get the deal closed! He continued to go above and beyond to make the house buying process less stressful for me and my husband!

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles

 

  

02/26/2014 - kitfam
Helped me rent a Single Family home in Christiansburg, VA.

Charles was very helpful in locating the right property for us, his knowledge of the current listings in our price range and desired area was impressive. I will say that from the viewing of the available property, to the final paperwork we would certainly recommend Mr. Burnette and staff. Thanks for your all your assistance.

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles

 

  

02/26/2014 - jerseybig7
Property manage a Single Family home in Blacksburg, VA.

Burnette Realtors has to be the worst property management company I ever had the displeasure of dealing with. In the process of managing our properties in Blacksburg, Burnette Realtors has bilked us out of thousands of dollars. Every month we always receive less than the full rent proceeds from our renters because Charles Burnette always deducts from our monthly check bogus "repairs" that he claims he performed on our units. His monthly statements say nothing about what was done other than show the deduction from our proceeds that $X amount of money was used for repairs. When questioned on the repairs, he never is available, never returns calls, his office staff knows nothing, and he fails to send documentation that I requested as proof. It's so frustrating getting less than our expected rental income every month with no explanation why, but we HARDLY EVER get the full amount because there is ALWAYS something Charles will add to deduct from our proceeds. On several occasions, I requested his work orders or an itemized breakdown for these frequent "repairs" on our units, and he never once supplied them. Plus, instead of handling multiple "repairs" at a time, he spreads them out over multiple weeks so he can charge his $75 fee just for showing up. It's amazing how all three toilet flappers in a single unit can all fail in separate consecutive weeks and I get charged $100 for each visit to cover his visitation fee, parts, and the labor to replace it. Unfortunately, I live too far away to handle it myself, so Charles knows it's ok to charge me $300 for 3 toilet flappers!!! Also, Charles is always quick to charge renters an exorbitant late fee for late rental payments, but we the owners never once saw any late fees forwarded to us -- Charles always keeps these late fees for himself, even though we're the ones who get hit with late fees if we can't pay the mortgage, which we rely on the prompt payment from our renters to pay on time. Furthermore, Charles has never refunded a security deposit to any of our renters. He always keeps the full amount for himself as he always manages to find something wrong, such as a spot on the wall or floor that needs to be cleaned, requiring the full amount of the security deposit, regardless of whether or not the renters had the carpets professionally cleaned. Charles knows most tenants who leave probably won't argue too much to get their security deposit back since it was probably split 3 ways and paid by the students' parents, so this is just extra money to pad Charles' wallet. Even though we the owners have driven to Blacksburg to clean our units on several occasions in between lease agreements, Charles has failed to supply any funds from the security deposit as reimbursement to us, even though I had sent in a detailed list of the items I used clean the units to prepare it for the next renters, as required by Charles. Once, Charles' staff replied back that he already used the security deposit to clean the unit when I submitted my claim, but the place was FILTHY when I arrived, so I know he did nothing to clean it. My next tenants would have walked out if they arrived to a unit in the condition Charles had supposedly "cleaned!" I can go on with more stories about his incompetence, but all I can say is if he is your current property manager, good luck getting out of his management agreement, too. Charles built in a clause that he needs a 90-day notice in writing in order to terminate his services. Needless to say, I sent in the notice 3 months ago so I am finally free of this worthless excuse of a management company. DO NOT, and I repeat, DO NOT HIRE CHARLES BURNETTE TO MANAGE YOUR PROPERTY!!!

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles

 

  

06/14/2013 - user249253
Helped me rent a Single Family home in Christiansburg, VA.

Lived in rentals for the last 5 years but never had the misfortune of getting stuck with such arrogant, passive aggressive, non-functional realtors. I rarely write review's but by not writing one about them would be a disservice to my community. Took up a rental from them and paid the usual fee's, and one month security etc. Soon enough issues began to arise with plumbing, toilet bowl, faucets etc and I had to call them to get them fixed (which was a part of my contract). As we got further into the year what was "oh! he didn't pick up the phone again" became an ever increasingly frustrating game -- to the point that I had to call him from other numbers since Mr. Burnette had blocked my number or wouldn't pick up. Calling the office number just meant "I dont know i'll check with Charles when i can" and then no communication for dayyyys until you somehow managed to grab Charles himself by calling from another number. The dishwasher finally broke down and 4 phone calls and 5 days later the reply I finally got was our guy came and said he couldn't do anything about it so I 'WILL' call the specialist and obviously the story doesn't end there...but it all gets too monotonous to write now so I will lay out the bottom line. DO NOT DO ANY KIND OF BUSINESS DEALING WITH THESE FOLKS. This company operates on some of the worst moral and ethical principals around in the NRV....they will be passive aggressive on the phone, straight up rude when you call more than once to check up on an issue and then lie about what they did with our service request. From what I am reading they are also very litigious and threatening and I got a first hand taste of it today. When I finally tried pursuing a service request 5 days after it was put in, the reply I got was harsh, rude and basically to the effect that if you took this to court I have 30 days to fix this issue and it has only been 5. Really!!? Is that how we do business and it that any way to deal with a client? You decide.

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles

 

  

08/13/2012 - user8688132
Helped me rent a home in Lakewood Estates, North Potomac, MD 20850.

If there were stars for BELOW, I would have voted for that. His rental company, his son and Mr Burnette were more than unprofessional. Not to mention, lying that the apartments had been cleaned and mold was present b/c the AC had been turned off. IF that were the REAL case, then every house and unit/condo would have mold. The place was filthy with food stuck in the sink with mold growing in the sink. I had to call him on his cell phone, after I didnot get a email back nor a return phone call when I sent in a maintenance request. He said the owner of the apartment was lying that it had not been cleaned when in fact he was the one that had lied, saying he had been in the apartment and it looked fine..I wonder if he would let his daughter live in a place as filthy as this one... I will NEVER recommend this place nor his business to anyone. He is very rude and beligerant when asked to have simple things done.

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles on 12/29/2012

We manage over 100 units in Blacksburg and the units are professionally cleaned when tenants move out. If there is a problem with the cleaning the cleaners are sent back and meet with the tenants to make sure that they are satisfied. This unit our only job is to find tenants for the owner. The owner does his own cleaning and painting. The tenants deal directly with the owner of the property. The tenants know this when they sign their leases.

 

  

07/03/2012 - Deb Booth
We connected, but it did not work out. Looking in Merrimac, Blacksburg, VA 24060

We met with Mr. Burnette initially to discuss using him as a Realtor to sell our rental property. Ultimately, we came to the conclusion that we'd be better off renting the home out for another year. I wrote Mr. Burnette an email, explaining the situation. I didn't hear from him for 3 days. I then called Mr. Burnette and left him a voice mail. No response. I tried calling once more, asking him to represent us in his capacity as property manager. He finally called me back, and said he was working at his in-law's home, and would send me a contract later that day, and call me to confirm its receipt. I never heard from Mr. Burnette again.

My feelings are that Mr. Burnette talked a great game - sounded very knowledgeable and motivated. But his actions didn't match his "talk". I shouldn't have to chase someone down to get their business. (And if you don't want my business, it would be business-like and considerate to TELL me so.)

I could never recommend someone who was as difficult to get a response from as Mr. Burnette was. Two disappointed thumbs way, way down.

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles on 12/29/2012

Sometimes you have to say no to a listing if the owner is not realistic with their pricing. Unfortunately some people will not except no for an answer.

 

  

03/26/2012 - user792866
Bought a home in 2012 in Merrimac, Blacksburg, VA 24060.

This was our first purchase experience of this type. Our primary residence is not in the city (Blacksburg, VA) where the purchase was made; hence we were doing everything by remote. More challenging, we did not know anyone on whom to lean that was familiar with the Blacksburg area.

Our meeting with Charles was some of the BEST luck I have ever experienced. We closed in well under 30 days. There were NO surprises. We'd asked Charles to help resource other contacts as needed (contractor(s) for some minor work such as landscaping, how and where to get services and hook ups etc., and especially title attorneys and home inspection). The last two were especially effective, and the home inspector was over the top in detail so that we had ZERO surprises. All were better than market on prices, and at no time did my wife or I feel pressured to purchase, act in a way that we were not comfortable or ready, or pressured to use Charles' resources. His follow through even after the close was greatly appreciated.

My wife and I have purchased homes prior and have some experience with which to compare. It is obvious that this was not Charles' "first rodeo," and his professionalism, effectiveness and plain spoken accuracy was evidenced at every turn. I recommend him and his staff highly and without reservation. thanks...Owen

Profile picture for Charles Burnette
Response from Charles