Showing school attendance zone

Test Scores by grade:

About This School

St. Odilia Parish School is a private middle school in Shoreview. 551 students attend St. Odilia Parish School and are mostly White, non-Hispanic; Hispanic; and Asian. The ratio of students to teachers at St. Odilia Parish School is 22:1. North Heights Christian Academy is one of the nearest middle schools.

Extracurricular Activities

  • Arts

    • Band
    • Theater drama
  • Languages Taught

    • Spanish
  • Sports

    • Baseball
    • Basketball
    • Martial arts self defense
    • P.E. classes
    • Soccer
    • Softball
    • Swimming
    • Track
    • Volleyball
    • Wrestling

Student Ethnicities

Ethnicity School
White, non-Hispanic 87%
Hispanic 5%
Asian 5%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2%
Black, non-Hispanic 1%
Native American or Native Alaskan 1%
Multiracial 0.4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.4%

Community Rating & Reviews

  • (6 months ago)

    Went there for two years and it was the most awful experience of my life. Weak academics and indifferent faculty.

  • (1 year ago)

    St Odilia elementary school has a wonderful religion music and arts program. The school also serves a lot of higher income families in the area. Not so impressed with a few of the teachers who have complacent attitudes and lack of concern for children. Our child has individual learning needs and our teacher seemed unwilling to accommodate and very clearly favored children with no special needs. A few of the good teachers and compassionate principal make this school worth while but there is some need for improvement .

  • (1 year ago)

    As a parent I would not say that teachers generally challenge students to learn. I don't think that this is a school that caters to academically inclined children. My child's teacher is extremely complacent and informed us early on in the year that despite the fact that our child is already familiar with the concepts that she will be teaching throughout the year she would not be going out of her way to give our child either additional or more challenging work. As a result our child complains about being bored on a daily basis. I would say that the top priority at the school is religious education and everything else is a very distant second.

  • (3 years ago)

    Even though we no longer live in the school district there was no question our kids would go to school at St. O's. It is a fantastic school and they consistently meet the needs and expectations for us and our kids. They have responded immediately to our kids' needs when they needed tutoring or some reminders of the rules! They are wonderful and we would never consider another school.

  • (4 years ago)

    Oh my sending our children to St. O's was the best decision we ever made! The community is very close knit. Many many parents watching out for our children on campus and in the community. Parents at St. O's are not afraid to step in and lend a hand or offer direction to other children. Further you dont have to fear that if you suggest to someone elses child that they are out of line that the parents are going to snap back and tell you to mind your own business. This school gives children the opportunity to flourish socially and academically. The students at St. O's feel part of the community and the majority of the teachers are truly engaged in the teaching and mentoring process.

  • (4 years ago)

    Outstanding school and community. St. Odilia School has provided a wonderful environment for my child to develop during his K - 8 years. Faith and values are important to our family and we appreciate a school that can successfully integrate faith and vaules into a strong academic curriculum. I am confident that my son is well prepared to face the challenges and opportunities of high school.

  • (4 years ago)

    I have to agree with the 10/20/09 review. Disappointing as we were expecting much more beyond the foundation of faith and values that you would assume comes with every private/catholic school. A decent focus on the academic basics but a puzzling lack of interest by the school in teaching diversity in viewpoints 2nd language arts etc. Debating whether to move our 1st grade son out and not send our daughter there next year as a kindergardener.

  • (4 years ago)

    Not a bad school if your main focus is religion for more diverse and higher level education look elsewhere.

  • (5 years ago)

    Outstanding School. Does a great job of educating my kids academically socially physically and spiritually. Many parents are actively involved in making this a great place to teach our children

See all reviews on GreatSchools

Nearby